Best replacement tuning machines/key things for Gibson Les Paul

What's Hot
I've got locking ones on there at the moment and they're doing my nut in.

I want normal wraparound alternatives. My guitar tech said that the allpart keystone shaped chrome tuning keys are preferable to the Gibson branded Grover ones. There's Gotoh too, but I've no experience with any of them so am wondering what you builders/modders like to use?

He made a good point though, the chrome Keystone shaped keys look nice and compliment the Gibson headstock perfectly.
Read my guitar/gear blog at medium.com/redchairriffs

View my feedback at www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/comment/1201922
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RoxRox Frets: 2147
    I've always put Grovers on mine, kidney bean tuner buttons are my preference... :)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • TimberGTimberG Frets: 50
    Either Grovers of Kluson (to keep that Gibson look going), 
  • DanielsguitarsDanielsguitars Frets: 3290
    tFB Trader
    Grovers are heavier than klusons

It's either of those for me and down to your preference
    www.danielsguitars.co.uk
    (formerly customkits)
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72293
    Do the existing ones have a 10mm bushing (with a threaded collar with a hex top on it and a separate washer) or 8mm (small round bushing)?

That will limit your choice unless you either want to bore the holes out or use conversion bushings, both of which I would try to avoid.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• streethawkstreethawk Frets: 1631
    edited April 2017
    I'm getting some Faber ones in, in either the 10mm or 8mm sizes with plastic buttons.