Have I completely destroyed these speakers?

What's Hot
andy1839andy1839 Frets: 2197
Ok, I decided to swap the speakers out of my Peavey 6505 212.  

Easy enough I thought, until I discovered they had been glued/painted into the baffle, the gasket is made from MDF so there was no give in it so when I pulled them out I left a good chunk of the cone behind stuck to the baffle. 

Now, I've had zero experience with torn speakers, never had one re-coned or repaired.
Although the tear hasn't gone all the way through the cone, if you hold the speaker up to the light you can see through where the tear is from behind. 

Are these now junk? is it worth repairing them or having them re-coned?  How much is a typical re-cone? Can you 'bodge' a repair on something like this or is the damage too great?

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g55/andy1839/IMG_3704_zpsb3kxcoww.jpg
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g55/andy1839/IMG_3703_zpsa7doe596.jpg
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g55/andy1839/IMG_3702_zpsujaac6em.jpg
http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g55/andy1839/IMG_3701_zpstkpcl7ty.jpg
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72228
    You could probably repair them with some cellulose dope and the pieces that came off. Won't be perfect, but they should work OK. They will actually work now, but you may get some odd overtones from the damaged areas and there's a possibility of them tearing.

It's an easy thing to do if you haven't had it happen before so you're not expecting it. You need to carefully work round under the edge of the speaker with a flat blade like a paint scraper to prevent it happening, although it can be difficult to get at the complete edge in a lot of cabs.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski