Thoughts on cheap cabinet?

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone has any experience with any of these few cabs:

1. Subzero 1x10 with Celestion Tube 10
2. Fame GN112 vintage with Celestion V30
3. Harley Benton GN112 vintage with Celestion V30

I'm planning on buying one as the prices are relatively good. If anyone has any opinions on them do let me know please.

The other thing I would consider is a second hand cab but there is always a problem of posting.

Thank you all in advance.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• simonksimonk Frets: 1467
    edited April 2017
    I've no direct experience with any on your list, but add the Jet City JCA12S+ to it. The stock Eminence is capable (although I swapped it out for a neo Jensen I had spare) and the cab features a convertible back and a simulated line out - it's a great little cabinet.

http://www.jetcityamplification.com/12s

Agree about the Tube 10... it's a pants speaker.
  • RichardjRichardj Frets: 1538
    Celestion Tube 10 is a pretty awful speaker, boxy and harsh, so any cab with it is never going to sound that great. Don't know the Fame, but I've seen and used a Harly Benton 2x12 with the V30s and it's a decent cab. Solidly made and sounds good. The 1x12 is on my shopping list.
  • professorbenprofessorben Frets: 5105
    The Harley Benton gets a good bit of respect here, although I've not used it, the Jet City cabs are good too and can be picked up s/h pretty cheap. 
    " Why does it smell of bum?" Mrs Professorben.
  • Harley Benton is spot on for the money.  
    Trading feedback info here

My band, Red For Dissent
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72314