Boss vs Disaster Area - School me in (affordable-ish) MIDI enabled loop switchers.

colourofsoundcolourofsound Frets: 393
So I'm looking at either a Boss ES-5 or DA's most recent DPC-5 Gen3 loop switcher.

I'm interested in a compact and affordable switcher that will allow me MIDI control as well as tap tempo output and ideally, CV.

How do these two units compare functions wise? Is there any other unit I should be considering?

For example, I'm aware that DA doesn't do CV; just tap tempo. Is the same true of the Boss unit? Documentation is fairly scarce on CV it seems.

This is all very new to me; but I'd like to run recallable MIDI analog effects (Chase Bliss, Stone Deaf) in the future, or just preset combos of my existing stomps.

Thanks in advance!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1813
    I use the DMC-8D and the DPC-8EZ. I've been using DA switchers for the past 4 years now and really love how they are easy to program. What I love best is the small footprint for my board too. I haven't many stomp boxes now around 3 I think. So the it might be overkill using the DPC-8EZ but I couldn't gig without the DMC-8D to select presets on my two strymons. I've never tried any other switchers brand as I've always been happy with the DA units for my use.

I think one just has to work out what your usage would be. I love some of the functionality of the G2 or the Boss but I would never use half of the features really (when will GigRig bring out a lite G2 version). I don't know much about the Boss but I'm sure it'll be cheaper than the G2 (what isn't ;)). The extra expense with the G2 is in the wiring and powering up etc :(
    Link to my trading feedback:  http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/59452/
  • @hotpickups so you use the DMC for presets and the DPC to bypass switching? I think i'm after something that does both at the same time; which I believe the new DPC-5 which the little screen on does.