speaker combination dilemma - various celestions in a couple of cabs

John_PJohn_P Frets: 2750
Any experts care to chip in with which speakers you would wire up together?

Spare speakers:
2 x  hot100 8ohm,  
2 x G12H100 4ohm,
1x vintage G12 8ohms (older version of a vintage30),  
1xG12M70 4ohm

I have a spare 4x12 and an oversize 2x12.  
I'm not particularly tied in to needing a certain overall impedance.   

I was going to wire it up as option A until I spotted the other two speakers so I could go with option B

Option A   cab1 hot100 + V30  (16ohm)     cab2  G12H100 + G12H100 (8ohm)

Option B  cab1   V30 + G12H100 + G12H100 (16ohm)      cab2  hot100 + hot100 (16ohm)

Anyone spot another combination?  Any preference which combination will work better?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• CarpeDiemCarpeDiem Frets: 291
    Whilst I'm not an expert on speaker combinations, it may be worth stating what type of music you play/sounds you are after. Also, whether your cabinets are open or closed backs. Hopefully, this will help in informing the experts.
  • John_PJohn_P Frets: 2750
    Good point - I play all sorts of music but I guess when I use this it would be either the 4x12 with a jubilee 50 as a second half stack or both as a second full stack so fairly rocking - think whitesnake levels of gain.   
    Both cabs are closed. 
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72307
    Try a G12H-100 with the G12M-70. The 70 isn't a great speaker on its own, but it seems to work quite well with a heavier-sounding one. If it's a vertical cab put the 70 at the top, it will be less spiky sounding than the 100.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• Modulus_AmpsModulus_Amps Frets: 2576
    tFB Trader