Before I go dumping money into a Fender amp, how hard to make from a kit?

What's Hot
I've got some hobby soldering experience (brass model kits, rewiring various guitars), and am broadly familiar with electronics but not at any real depth. I'm looking at a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe to make sweet love-music alongside my Marshall-style map - in an ideal world though, a Tweed Blues Jr with some kind of attenuation would be much better. Thoughts?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• OssyrocksOssyrocks Frets: 1673
    I built a 5E3 deluxe from a Mission kit. It turned out great and took me all of three Sunday afternoons. It wasn't really a cheap option though as I probably spent as much as buying a used one.

It was a great experience though.

Rob
  • DanielsguitarsDanielsguitars Frets: 3290
    tFB Trader
    Have a look at modulus amplification

They do nice kits and they're a simple build if you follow the layout

I made an 18watt plexi years ago and went from there into other builds

That amp is still going strong and a friend has it now 

It's addictive so be warned
    www.danielsguitars.co.uk
    (formerly customkits)
  • lysanderlysander Frets: 574
    edited April 2017
    These do look very tempting tough not cheap. I also would have little use for them at home due to how loud these all are but still...
    I would caution though that tube amps are high power high voltage devices that can easily kill you or burn through your fingers irreparably even when off due to the capacitors, so learning about safe handling is crucial.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72307
    You probably won't be able to find a kit for something as relatively complex as a Hotrod or a Blues Junior - most of them are for simple vintage amps like the 5E3 Deluxe.

I wouldn't do a Blues Junior anyway… the Hotrod Deluxe is so far in a different league it's untrue - and you can pick them up second hand for under £400 quite easily.