Vintage AC30 advice....

What's Hot
IvisonGuitarsIvisonGuitars Frets: 6838
in Amps tFB Trader
I'm looking to the esteemed gentlemen here who may have experience of these amps, @Dodge & @ICBM spring to mind, I'm sure there are many more!

I've been doing the boutique VOX thing for a good 10 years now (Matchless, BadCat, TopHat) but ive recently got the hankering to try a real deal vintage AC30.

Now, I've avoid these like the plague up to now because, have toured with a few of them over the years, my only experiences involve blown fuses, blown valves and flames.....but in my advancing years, I feel like a challenge! ;)

Yet I know bugger all about them.

What's the best sounding/classic configuration/most desirable/most reliable? Is there any corrilation between those statements? Or do I stick with the boutique version? (The Bad Cat 2x12 is going nowhere BTW).

For reference I'm playing alt. Country/Roots Rock etc

Any help/guidance/advice would be most appreciated!

http://www.ivisonguitars.com
(formerly miserneil)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I was recommended to avoid old vox amps. 

The circuits are more complex than fenders so more expensive to overhaul if it needs work, which they usually seem to. It's odd that a boutique fender style is often just a couple of handfuls of parts usually soldered up in the original fender layout, but that's what people are happy to pay for instead of paying the same amount or less for the real deal and a visit to the tech. 

Vox amps are not, they seem to have a lot more bits and a much more complex circuit and there are real issues with some of them. Boutique ones like badcats presumably fix some of these, although some reckon they lose some of the magic along the way. 

Honestly, I really liked the modern ones. I tried one with a couple of greenbacks in and it was brilliant, and I've heard an ac15 with a blue and it sounded spot on vintage. They may be more reliable too.