What's Hot

Comments

• SporkySporky Frets: 28138
    If this goes well I'll be a hero.
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • GagarynGagaryn Frets: 1553
    Gagaryn said:
    I'm no woodworking expert but I would worry about making that wall too thin - cack handed knob twiddlers or a jolt to the cable could be a disaster waiting to happen.
    I know what you mean, but the tops for many guitar control chambers are just as thin - it's simply that you don't see it.  

Oh yeah - didn't think about that! Now that I have I'm worried!
  • Andyjr1515Andyjr1515 Frets: 3127
    Sporky said:
    If this goes well I'll be a hero.
    With that workshop of yours, @Sporky , you already are :)

Having said that, there is a slight flaw in our logic, I've realised: 

Because it is the shaft itself that is also short (the choice of centre indent 10k mini linear pots is...erm...limited), the insert doesn't actually give you (me) any minimum wall thickness advantage over a normal nut!  What it does, give, however, is a much more supportive fixing

- which still makes you a hero

- if it works  ;)
    I've lengthened the chamber to give a bit more space between the jack and the bottom knob and, barring a final tidy up, done also the rebate for the cover.  The rebate widens in places to give room for the magnets.  

Once the rebate is finalised, I'll be trying to coax my little bandsaw into cutting a 3mm-ish slice of sycamore-offcut to use as a cover...
    edited June 2017
    Gagaryn said:
    Gagaryn said:
    I'm no woodworking expert but I would worry about making that wall too thin - cack handed knob twiddlers or a jolt to the cable could be a disaster waiting to happen.
    I know what you mean, but the tops for many guitar control chambers are just as thin - it's simply that you don't see it.