Finished building my first amp!

What's Hot
thermionicthermionic Frets: 9610
edited June 2018 in Making & Modding
I've had the ampmaker site bookmarked for a long, long time, but I finally decided to give one a go. The old SE-5a has been improved with a couple of front panel switches so I ordered a kit a few weeks ago:

It's a lot of work, I spent at least two wet and windy weekends on it. The instructions are fantastic, especially bits that help avoid you getting into over-fiddly situations where you can't get a soldering iron near where you need it because there's previous wires in the way.

The instructions come with a list of comprehensive tests split into several stages. I followed them carefully because I've never worked with high voltages before. There was one voltage that was 100V lower than it should be but it didn't take me long to spot the mistake (I used to be an electronic engineer) - a 1M resistor when it should have been 100k. I had damaged a couple of resistors (twisted the legs off) and bought spares from Maplins, so luckily I had a spare 100k to put in the right place.

Thermionic emission!

The finished article. Currently with an EL34, hoping for a proper Marshall sound. I have an EL84 to try as well, courtesy of Karltone.

I have a cab on order and I'm looking for a used Greenback for it, but I couldn't resist using the 2x10"s of my AC15 for a quick run-through. It sounds pretty good, the VVR voltage scaling works well, turn up the gain and the master, bypass the eq for a really smooth power valve distortion.
0reaction image LOL 4reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I tell you what, that lead dress doesn't look like it's your first! I assume it's probably nice and quiet :)

Glad to hear it sounds nice, too.  How much power do you get with the el34?

Nice work :D
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom