I have spent a fortune on electric guitars

What's Hot
And never really got anywhere with my playing. I've owned guitars for about 20 years and enjoyed buying and selling more than playing. I took classical lessons for about 6 months when I started playing. and what I can play now is what I learnt then. 

I then got hooked on wanting an electric guitar and I just stalled in my progression as a player as I gave up my classical lessons. I learnt little bits of solos and can play with some feeling but cannot play a song from start to finish, cannot improvise as I would like, hate playing with backing tracks etc. Took loads of electric lessons and never got where I wanted as I looked for new gear to buy and noodled with the pentatonic scale. All my fault not the numerous teachers. 

So so I find myself with a £3800 Les Paul R8 historic, £2000 1969 vintage Silverface princeton in mint condition, £2700 Fender CS limited edition tele and a £600 Marshall SL5 all of which I have little or no interest in playing and a £250 Simon and Patrick SP6 that has sat in a case for 20 years which after digging it out recently I have more fun on that all the electric gear although the neck is a little narrow for me

So.  

Do do I sell the electric gear and buy a guitar that I can learn some fingerstyle and strumming tunes on and mothball the rest of my gear or just give up as my frustration with the time and money I've wasted is overwhelming at the moment

jason
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• GrunfeldGrunfeld Frets: 4038
    Beautifully honest post Jason.
    And not abnormal.
    I'm going out on a limb here:
    The real problem is fear.
    Fear of being crap.

You can't get competent at playing guitar while you're fearful.
    An expensive guitar won't... CAN'T... deal with the fear.
    Only one thing can do that...
    Exposure to your fear.

Play a f*cking E chord
    Play a f*cking A chord
    Play a f*cking B chord