Anyone using a looper as a practice aid ???!!

What's Hot
riffpowersriffpowers Frets: 344
I'm not really much of a pedal person , (I've been playing the same overdrive pedal since 1983!!) but lately I've been spending a lot of time trying to work out 2nd guitar parts on practice recordings , and it occurred to me that a looper pedal might work for me . I could record the riff part I'm working on and experiment with adding/writing a 2nd part while it loops round . Anyone using a looper as a practice aid ??!!!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Great tool for that. If I'm just jamming something and if it sounds good I can loop it and listen back instantly. Or if I'm learning a cover (I play in covers bands) it's a quick easy way of listening back and spotting where I need to tighten up.
  • Yes, I use me Zoom G3X: set up a drum beat, play some chordy bits, try and think of things to play over the top of it. Good for practising note choice, feel, timing, etc etc. Especially good for learning to leave more.............gaps.
    I'm just a Maserati in a world of Kias.
  • JDEJDE Frets: 1092
    That was all I used a looper for.
  • Drew_TNBDDrew_TNBD Frets: 22445
    I sometimes loop something in the rehearsal studio using my DD7 so I can show a basic beat idea to our drummer.
  • equalsqlequalsql Frets: 6084
    All the time. It's become indispensable for me. I use a Boss RC-2 which is great but the drum patterns are limited. It would be nice to have one that could be MIDI synced to my drum machine.

(pronounced: equal-sequel)   "I suffered for my art.. now it's your turn"
  • Yep. RC2 user here as well. I only really use it for practice. Its a very useful practice tool. It would be a bit of a pain in the arse to use live. In fact does anyone use one live here?