Live rig

What's Hot
antifashantifash Frets: 603
Hello, and thanks in advance for any advice here.

There's a possibility of me playing bass live in a band for the very first time. I have a basic Epiphone EB3 and use a Laney BA108 at home. I don't mind the guitar, it'll do for now, but should it come to it - I'm wondering what to use at practise / gig. 

I have all Laney amps in the house, have never tried Markbass or any other bass brands. I understand that a head / cab option is best, though I'd really rather not store loads of gear if possible. 

Just wondered if anyone had any tips on what to look for.

Cheers.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• UnclePsychosisUnclePsychosis Frets: 12881
    Depends a lot on the band and the venues/practice rooms you'll be playing at. 

I've been a gigging bassist for pushing ten years and I don't currently own an amp other than a practice amp. In my experience practice rooms have perfectly adequate bass amps for what I do (fairly straightforward rock) and at gigs 70% of the time backline is either shared or provided and the remaining 30% of the time I DI straight into the PA.Worth noting I always confirm in advance of the gig what the situation is and am not overly fussy about tones: I'll always be happy to DI if needed. So, for me, owning a 300W head and bass cab would be a waste of space and money: it would just gather dust for 364 nights of the year.

Of course, if you're in a covers band instead of the originals scene then the odds of needing to provide all the gear yourself increase dramatically. I'm sure someone will be along with some recommendations soon enough.   
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • antifashantifash Frets: 603
    @unclepsychosis That is very helpful and assuring. Many many thanks for that. 
  • GrunfeldGrunfeld Frets: 4028
    @antifash ; -- I've just PM'd.
    Basically my son is selling his bass head and cab: