Anybody moved abroad with guitars? trying to work out best way

What's Hot
adamm82adamm82 Frets: 448
edited June 2017 in Guitar
if I happen to move to Italy I will have 5 guitars that will need transporting.

I would be tempted to drive there with them to be honest. Any other ideas? 

Also will my amps work over there? or will I have to get new ones? It's just a cheap Orange crush 15r and a Marshall mg15cdr so no big loss might be a good excuse to get a new amp. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• AlnicoAlnico Frets: 4616
    Drive it.
    I was a European truck driver in the 90's.
    You'll have a blast doing it and you know it's safe..........well...........as safe as you can be on Italian roads.

But yeah, just drive it.
    In a car you should get through Mont Blanc and down into Aeosta in 2 days without stressing yourself out too much, depends on your appetite for driving. 4 days and you're sightseeing which is cool as well.

Yes your amps should work fine over there. They use roughly the same voltage but a 2 pin plug.

• stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 26742
    What are you doing with the rest of your stuff?

When we moved to Abu Dhabi we had a shipping container full of stuff. Guitars went in there, each one carefully packed in a hardcase inside a double-walled cardboard box. Plus a Tele in a Hiscox with me on the plane so I wasn't sans-guitars for 6 weeks while the container arrived. They were all fine. 

That said, if you're doing any drives, Alnico's plan is a good one. 
    The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires
  • usedtobeusedtobe Frets: 3841
    Tele in a hiscox? Pfff... bin bag, surely..

=) 
     so if you fancy a reissue of a guitar they never made in a colour they never used then it probably isn't too overpriced.

• stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 26742
    usedtobe said:
    Tele in a hiscox? Pfff... bin bag, surely..

=)