One for the tech heads - resistor values in circuits

What's Hot
MtBMtB Frets: 922
edited February 2014 in Amps
Do you think that the effect of tolerance compounding (of resistor values) in an amps or pedal circuit has a significant effect on the tone and response of the circuit? 
I have done some reading on amp and pedal build forums where it has been claimed that some builders take the time to measure and select the value of each resistor, ensuring that it is the exact value as that on the schematic of the original, prior to soldering it into the circuit. 

Taking that each resistor in a circuit has a tolerance of 5% or 10%, would that have that much of an effect on what the amp sounds like?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• CirrusCirrus Frets: 8491
    edited February 2014
    I'm not a pro tech or anything but my feeling has always been that yes, when you add up all the different tolerances of the resistors and caps you use, the variations in supply voltage and current draw, and the effects of lead dress, it all adds up to make two amps that are ostensibly the same sound different.

BUT... Who's to say that getting the component values bang on with the schematic is going to sound better than whatever values random chance might give you?

I've always assumed that builders who do screen every component for tight tolerances do so because that kind of attention to detail gives great consistency and consumers will respond positively to that.
  • I'd say so, but I'd also say that closer to the value on the schematic doesn't necessarily mean it will sound better...or more like the original. Cap values too. Some are even 20%, which is a fair bit.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72242