Complete beginner and guitar needs some fixing before i can get started, please help.

What's Hot
Hi everyone, I just posted in the introduction thread and now i am posting here in the hope you folks may be able to help me. 

I have never played the guitar (apart from a little time messing about as a kid) but I fancy trying it out and feel it would be a rewarding endeavour. Anyway, my dad has an old guitar that I was planning on using. And i do mean old. it's an acoustic Aria aw200 guitar, think it was made in 1988.  So, i knew i needed new strings for the guitar because the ones that were on it were snapped off, i bought these. I went to string the guitar and realised a part was missing. That part i now know is called the "top nut" i believe.

Issue is, i don't have the old top nut to measure up and go buy a new one. So, i am posting here in the hope someone may be able to give me some advice on what dimensions to take and what size of nut to look for. The neck itself is 44mm wide, the depth from the fret board to the neck is 6mm and the height from the end of the freat board towards the head of the guitar is roughly 5.5mm. Apologies if that is hard to follow, since i know very little i am struggling a bit to explain it. Where I am confused is the depth being 6mm. I will obviously need more than 6mm because the strings will then need to be held slightly above the board. So any advice on this would be great, perhaps where i could purchase this thing and what size i should be looking for ?

Finally, the other problem with the guitar is it's been stored in an old house for a while and so there is some dampness/mould on the fretboard, I am wondering if this is fixable and if so , what with ?

Thanks very much, id appreciate any help

Jamie

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14422
    edited July 2017