NGDx2......and the wait is over.

What's Hot
ellwoodellwood Frets: 1113
edited April 2018 in Guitar
This weekend I've done something I never thought I would do.

No, not that.

Or that. Stop sniggering at the back.

Little bit of back story. Last year I quit my job with only a vague idea of a plan. To ensure we had enough money to fall back on I sold all of my bikes and all but one guitar - an old Chinese Burny 335. Mainly because that one didn't sell. Two days after leaving a competing brand contacted me and asked if I would do a similar role, as a contractor. This gave numerous benefits - the most important being more time with my family. Almost a year later and, touch wood, things are moving along. I've been raiding the classifieds building up a nice little collection of guitars and amps and have a couple of bikes back in the garage. 

I'm still an average-on-a-good-day guitarist (more on that later), but now have some nice guitars. I've worked up from £400-£500 level to buying some guitars I've always wanted. The latest, a Les Paul from Photek has rekindled my love for this style of guitar. I decided to save up and get an R9, and have always wanted a Slash sig (as he is the reason I picked up a guitar in the first place). I was moving towards an R9 when @RiftAmps posted his "NGD - Burst" thread. The guitar featured literally stopped me in my tracks. I'm not the most knowledgable on Bursts, but the Rift Burst is a stunning instrument. And the detail of the thread intrigued me. And then Anthony aka @flyfisher12 posted his contact details.

I took a deep breath and went and had a word with myself. Whilst I've had guitars for a long time I wasn't sure I was knowledgable enough or frankly good enough to approach a builder of that calibre. But the fact that the Rift Burst is so stand out, and that a commission build means payment in stages played very positively in my mental discussions.