Thoughts on a mahogany tele?

What's Hot
As mentioned recently, I have a burning desire to knock up an old/battered Telecaster. I'm thinking of going with my available wood, which would basically mean a mahogany body (chambered), some cheap wood as a top (basically an old vintage wine crate!) and a mahogany piece for the neck with a dark fretboard of some kind (need to buy that).

I'm not good at all with tonewoods and all that stuff, does it sound like a recipe for disaster?

Mockup:

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Sounds nice.
  • SporkySporky Frets: 28016
    It'll be fine.

If you subscribe to the "the timber makes no difference" school of thought then it'll make no difference.

If you don't, then it'll make a difference, but it'll still sound like an electric guitar.

Thus fine either way.

Apart from the Mateus Rose thing.
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 5reaction image Wisdom
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14411
    My Warmoth self-build Cabronita Tele turned out to have a mahogany body. I ordered a pre-painted body that I (and Warmoth) believed to be alder. When it arrived, there was a handwritten note, explaining the error and hoping that mahogany would be acceptable.

Funny that Warmoth felt unable to e-mail me to check prior to despatch.

As it turned out, mahogany was fine.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
    0reaction image LOL 2reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • CorvusCorvus Frets: 2925
    tFB Trader