Really boring beginner techie stuff

What's Hot
hi
im a real beginner after getting what looks like a nice Ibanez electro accoustic on eBay paid £80 like new. But I have no idea really seems to sound nice.
Sorry for the really boring basic questions

1. Is it worth taking it to a shop & getting it checked out for set up? String hight?
2 Is it worth changing the strings no idea how long they've been on there there are a couple of tarnish marks in places they are Dadorio strings, are they any good? What are the best strings? What diameter? 
3. Any other stuff I need the guitar came with a padded bag & a couple of basic books & I bought some thin bendy pics on advice from the shop. What about capo's string windy thingies? 
Cheers for any advice

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Winny_PoohWinny_Pooh Frets: 7768
    edited August 2017
    Setup will cost near as much as the guitar. Daddarios are excellent, if the solid treble strings are still shiny and the undersides of the wound strings are not pitted where they contact the frets they will be fine for now. Play and see if the string height and tension is ok. Good string height is 2-3mm between the top of the 12th fret and bottom of the thinnest string. If its too hard then you can go to a thinner gauge set. Your local shop will be able to see whats on there currently and sell you a set one gauge lighter  (eg 12s to 11s, measured by the thinnest string)

A capo is essential if you want to play acoustic songs. Songwriters use them to move the key higher and still be able to use the basic open position chord shapes like C, D, Amin, E etc
  • LozboyLozboy Frets: 80
    Welcome to the forum.Your wonderful guitar journey has just begun.Theres loads of info on the net and Youtube.I would check it out ASAP anything your confused about then ask on here.Do not spend any money until your absolutely sure.