Non paint or lacquer guitar finishes...

What's Hot
I've got a lovely natural grain guitar body I'll be doing something with fairly soon.

I really don't want to use paint or lacquer. I'd also like to keep some of the grain showing.

Waxing is an obvious one but is there any other suggestions for finishes? I'm new to anything but paint so really have no idea what's available.

I'm open to any colour type and dont mind putting in a bit of elbow grease. If it makes a difference it'll be sanded down to the bare wood. I also don't mind if the finish changes over time or relics quickly.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Shellac, tru oil and its variants, tung oil, wipe on poly... plenty of choices out there all with pros and cons. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • RabsRabs Frets: 2607
    tFB Trader

I use tru oil...  Love it.. 

Theres a good vid here on the subject

• lysander said:
    Shellac, tru oil and its variants, tung oil, wipe on poly... plenty of choices out there all with pros and cons. 
    Genuine thanks for that.

Which is easiest to work with for a first timer?

Is there a wide variety of colours or do most just stick to natural wood shades?
    edited September 2017 tFB Trader

Depends on what sort of finish you want..  I can get pretty shiny with Tru Oil  but its never going to quite be that mirror finish..

I did a quick vid about this

And oils are often slightly amber coloured.. Tru oil certainly is..... Which works well with woody colours (in general)

edited September 2017 tFB Trader

One thing to know when using some of these oils (tru oil included) is that when you are done wiping it on, don't just throw the rags in the bin..  Theres a small possibility that if you had a load piled on top of each other it can cause a chemical reaction which can cause a fire...