Albums you learned to play every track on

What's Hot
I just remembered that I never do this now, but when I was a teenager and never put my guitar down, there were a few albums I could play every song on and would stand in front of the lyric sheet, obsessively playing them for weeks at a time. Anybody else?

My list - probably chronologically is:

Deep Purple - Machine Head
Sex Pistols - Never Mind The Bollocks
Stiff Little Fingers - Inflammable Material
Neil Young - Harvest

I am nowhere near as old as this list suggests by the way...
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Me too. I learned Give Em Enough Rope by The Clash all the way through. I've still got the chord book that I bought when I was 17. I used to play along to the LP over and over.
    Link to my trading feedback
  • I was a bassist, but yes. 
    Rage Against The Machine- Rage Against The Machine
    Oasis- Definitely Maybe
    Radiohead- The Bends
  • I only did it with 1. Keep the Faith by Bon Jovi
  • Jimbro66Jimbro66 Frets: 2423

When I was just turned 16 the older brother of a school friend introduced me to R&R/Rockabilly which I thought was great compared to a lot of the stuff around at that time. In particular he played me a Gene Vincent album and raved about the guitar player then challenged me to learn it, in a mocking sort of way. So I set about learning every Cliff Gallup solo and all his fills on Vincent's first two albums. No You Tube back then so it took months of listening and slowing the vinyl albums to half speed (remember that?) but I got there in the end. All note-perfect. It didn't do my playing any harm.

I've never learned whole albums note-for-note like that since. Never had a need to but it was fun at the time.

0reaction image LOL 2reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • CHRISB50CHRISB50 Frets: 4309

I transcribed a Pulp for a mate back in the 90s. It wasn't very hard.