Scales and Theory need to know's for metal and hard rock?

What's Hot
Hi all, I am a beginner guitar player (9 months in) and I really want to start playing metal and hard rock music. I'm stuck in a bit of a rut as I don't know what I should learn to be able to play 80's metal and hard rock improvisation. What scales and theory do I need to know to be able to achieve this? I barley know any theory and I know the minor pentatonic and major scale. Both are the first positions. Any help is truly appreciated, thanks  =) 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• DaiCappDaiCapp Frets: 135
    There are some big brains on here for this kind of stuff who will be along soon I'm sure...

Personally I'd learn the 5 positions for the pentatonic, how you can link them together and also work them out for the majors and relative minors as a starting point...

There's a little video by a guy at Andertons called Peter Honore where he teaches some basics (for blues but the theory is relevant). He's a really musical player and so focuses on musicality over being too theoretical which helps makes stuff more accessible..

• Natural and harmonic minor might be useful for these styles, esp hard rock.
  • NikosNikos Frets: 0
    Hi, I haven't posted much on here but I saw this and I wish when I started out someone had advised me to learn the names of intervals, basic chord theory (how chords are constructed and how they relate to the key signature), and rhythm notation (basically how to mentally count rhythms and subdivide notes).

Troy Stetina's Fretboard Mastery is a good book on theory from a metal/hard rock guitar perspective. For general theory, Harmony and Theory published by the Musician's Institute is good. Both these books have tonnes of exercises which you might not want to get bogged down in on a first read.