Solo boost for a jcm800 - eq in fx loop or attenuator with switchable volume ??!

What's Hot
riffpowersriffpowers Frets: 344
I like the amp far too much to get something else with 2 channels , but I I really need a solution to the lack of solo boost. 

In previous posts people have mentioned putting an eq in the loop or using an attenuator with a footswitcable volume. 
I'd like to hear other people's opinions and experiences , so far here are my thiughts. 

Eq in loop - quite easy to do I would think , but adds extra complexity with leads and stuff , and I'd need to get a wah in there somehow. Does having such a long cable length affect sound in any way ? Does it add noise ??Does it take anything away from the sound ? I've never used an fx loop before .

attenuator - more expensive , but would also help with the monstrous power and volume of a 100 watt jcm800. 
Does anyone make sn attenuator with switchable volume ? Does it take too much away from the amp ??

im interested to know what the best solution would be 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• GoldenEraGuitarsGoldenEraGuitars Frets: 8823
    tFB Trader
    I'm going to buy an attenuator for my 78 JMP but I'm also getting a Schaffer Storm pedal by SoloDallas. Check it out on YouTube 
  • DanRDanR Frets: 1041
    Do you want more volume or just cut through more so you stand out.

For years bands just used screamer equivalents for solos so surely it's something that should work for you unless I'm missing something.
  • DanR said:
    Do you want more volume or just cut through more so you stand out.

For years bands just used screamer equivalents for solos so surely it's something that should work for you unless I'm missing something.
    I already have a screamer in front set as a clean boost on all the time ! 
  • clarkefanclarkefan Frets: 808
    If you want a clean boost and your 800 has a loop then stick a GE-7 in the loop, done.