Bass Amp Advice Please

What's Hot
Duppy03Duppy03 Frets: 104
I'm now doing the occasional gig playing bass and looking for an "affordable" solution for playing live.

I'm a guitarist and already have plenty of gear so not looking to get anything big or expensive, in fact the cheaper and smaller the better. Products that have caught my attention so far:

TC Electronics BH250 - Loosk great , but can't find one second hand to sit within my budget.

Ampeg- SCR DI - Love the look and sound of this, would be great for going direct into a desk and home recording but would still need something for onstage monitoring (should the PA not provide any feedback).

Eden WTDI - As above and falls into budget brand new.

Eden WC10 - Small enough a combo that I could squeeze it in the house, in theory it would serve well for home practices and small gigs (?) and could use the send to my DI box and into the desk for extra volume when needed. But is 50w and a single 10" speaker in a small cab going to cut it? Sounds great on the product demo video though.

Please shout up with any other suggestions, cheers
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14410
    edited October 2017
    General rule of thumb, multiply the nominal wattage rating of whatever amps the guitarist(s) use by at least three.

The tc electronic BG250 is offered in assorted loudspeaker configurations. The -208 version skimps on controls but has the advantage of an easily accessible Neutrik Speakon jack socket. The latter would be handy if you wanted to use a larger format loudspeaker array. With a four-pole plug, it might even be possible to drive internal and extension loudspeakers simultaneously.

If you only want an amp head, I have a tc electronic Classic 450. £300. Pics on request.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • BridgehouseBridgehouse Frets: 24579