Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

From a guitarists perspective, best budget bass

What's Hot
timmysofttimmysoft Frets: 1962
I'm primarily a guitarist but i have played bass in the past, but haven't owned a bass guitar for about a decade. Knowing how much better budget guitars are now, have basses improved in the lower sector of the market?

My criteria:
 - £250 or under (don't mind used or new)
 - Preferably Passive
 - Not a crazy shape
 - 4 strings only

Its mainly for recording at home and in the studio, so it doesn't have to be able to tour for years without fail, i just want something good sounding, decent to play and not too expensive! My current project is very much a modern rock band, similar in style to Silverstein, Capsize, Beartooth and Conditions.

Suggestions welcome!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Squier CV or VM Precision Bass.
  • I'm selling a yam rbx on here, it's a cracker for hardly any money  :)
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14423
    The usual, pre-owned, suspects are:

Squier Vintage Modified Precision Bass.
    Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass.
    Yamaha RBX or Attitude Plus.
    Ibanez/Soundgear.

Some of these instruments will be improved by upgrading the bridge and pickup(s).

If you can tolerate active tone control circuitry, add the Warwick Rockbass, Sterling By Musicman S.U.B. RAY and Squier Jaguar Bass to the list.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • SchnozzSchnozz Frets: 1948
    Best budget bass I've had is the G&L L2000 Tribute, but I think it cost me £350 - Classic tones that cut straight through.
  • SchnozzSchnozz Frets: 1948
    Squier CV or VM Precision Bass.