Ebay fun - returns!!!!

What's Hot

Comments

• Out of interest I'll try to find a contact at bkp and send them an email.
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • So I should relist on eBay and say output may vary slightly from the manufacturers website?
  • WezVWezV Frets: 16543
    I would get an answer from BKP first just so you can sell with confidence 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Cheers Wez
  • I've sent an email to the BKP technical email address - I'll publish the response here, more out of general interest.

I'm not a techie by any means...
  • rlwrlw Frets: 4671
    Ossyrocks said:
    WezV said:
    Makes me wonder what is an acceptable variance on a hand wound product.

it also makes me wonder if the approximate readings provided by BKP are with a cover on or off, potted or in potted,  whether they focus more on turn count than DC resistance, and what temperature the readings were done at.

i have had enough BKP’s to know they can vary from stated spec just as much as any other hand wound pickup.

Has either of you asked BKP if it’s within tolerance?  It does seem low, but it’s not the most reliable measure at the best of times.  Fairly sure Tim has previously said he only includes it because the market expects it.

Edit;  also, it will be unlabelled like all BKP’s... so you never know for sure
    I’m aware of the variances caused by temperature. When they arrived, they were very cold and the bridge measured 7.2k. The final reading of 7.7k was after three hours close to a radiator, so fully warmed up.

Brad has been great all through this, and has offered a full refund immediately, it’s just I felt I should explain my position here given that a discussion has been started, which is about me.

I don’t think this kind of variation is acceptable for a pickup advertised at 8.4k, which is on the hotter side of vintage PAF outputs.