Converting existing garage into a music room

What's Hot
LestratcasterLestratcaster Frets: 1079
edited March 2019 in Studio & Recording
I've been a private guitar tutor for a number of years now( next year will be a decade) and I've been using the front room in my house. No one has ever complained about it and in fact it provides a relaxed informal atmosphere so not to scare or intimidate learners.

However as I've progressed through the years and improved my service with branding, equipment and quality of tuition at some stage I will need to expand my teaching space. I have a garage at the back of the house but its totally empty, no electricity supply, no actual door to lock it up and its just sitting there.

What would I need to have done and how much would I be looking at approx to get it kitted out to be a teaching room? Basic things would be electricity mains, soundproofing and a secure door. 

I know a mate that has a similar sized garage for storage and stuff, he said builders quoted £8k to do his garage.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Heat insulation, ventilation.
    Don't attract council attention.
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
  • I'd have to apply for planning permission though wouldn't I? Surely I can't just go and build a studio on my tod
  • I'd have to apply for planning permission though wouldn't I? Surely I can't just go and build a studio on my tod
    If you're converting a garage there's no particular reason to rattle the council's cage over it. What will rile them more than anything else is the notion that you're using it for "business purposes" and not paying business rates. Paying business rates would mean you pay out more than you get in lesson fees so don't even go there.
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)