Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Finally going for a decent tube amp...

What's Hot
Hey guys,

So this is a tough one... I've had my Fender Stratocaster American Deluxe for a few years now, but never got around to buying an amplifier good enough for it. To be honest, due to spacial and financial constraints (I've been a student for the past four years living in student accommodation) I've had to settle for amps that were truly rubbish: Line 6 Spider III, Marshall DSL5C and a Marshall MG15CFR (current amp, and by far the worst). I've decided to go for a tube amp, for maximum quality and a combo since I don't play any live gigs or anything of the sort, it'd only be used for home playing (not more than 50W). 

Given my history with Marshall amps, I'm tempted to lean away from them, but I can appreciate that the Marshall amps I've had were exceptionally bad and therefore, I would be open to the idea. Tha main hurdle is the fact that I like to play a really wide variety of genres. I mostly play Metallica, Iron Maiden and Guns N' Roses, but I also love playing a more bluesy John Mayery-Hendrixian genre with a relatively clean tone. So versatility is key! 

I'm also a pedal guy, so I want something that works great with stompboxes. My budget is around £1000 ($1325) give or take £200 ($270).

I've done a little research and found a number of interesting ideas, though I'd be open to others:

Fender Bassbreaker
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe III
Orange Rocker 15/32
Marshall DSL40C
Marshall JVM205C/215C

Lastly, I'm looking for an amp that will last. No nonsense Marshall MG quality crap. 

I'd really appreciate the help guys,

Cheers!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• nick79nick79 Frets: 253