Latency with Ableton and Focusrite 2i2

I've run the latency test and adjusted as recommended but there us still a little lag. 

I've put a bass line down and want to play parts over using the direct line. 

Is there a way of lining up what you're recording with the bass track afterwards? Or should I be able to get latency down to near zero.

Hope this makes sense I'm completely new to this! 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14424
    Fuengi said:
    Is there a way of lining up what you're recording with the bass track afterwards? 
    Yes but this is not a desirable way to work.

Technical questions about your personal recording set-up are impossible to answer without more information about the equipment you happen to have.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • FuengiFuengi Frets: 2850
    I've got the Focusrite Scarlett bundle and am recording guitar using the direct line in. 
  • stratman3142stratman3142 Frets: 2197
    edited December 2017
    I don't have the same DAW and interface as you but I think the same general principles apply whatever is used.

What do you mean when you say you've run the latency test?

If set up correctly modern DAWs should automatically align the tracks allowing for the latency of the audio interface, particularly if you're using the ASIO setting. The DAW makes the compensation by using the latency reported by the interface. For example Reaper displays the input/output latency as two numbers in the top right hand corner. I expect Ableton will have some way of showing it.