Session Playing

What's Hot
Hi all, sorry if this is in the wrong category but not sure where to post. At last nights gig I was asked by an accomplished musician if I was a session player which was a lovely compliment but sadly I’m not. I was just wondering if anyone knows the best way to get into that line of work? Cheers, Steve. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• AlexCAlexC Frets: 2396
    There’s no set route (that I’m aware of), but aligning yourself with a producer who has their own studio is a good start. People will often come in and need a band behind them or some guitar parts. And then your reputation bulds. Is the idea!
  • Thanks @AlexC, any ideas the best route for searching for a producer? I’m a complete novice in this department! 
  • westwest Frets: 996
    Its not who you know , its who you blow ....
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • spark240spark240 Frets: 2083
    do a short video, get onto social media and search out all the producers etc, follow them and post your material, join forums like Produce like a Pro, post your material there, the guys are always look for contributors to songs.

Mac Mini M1
    Presonus Studio One V5
     https://www.studiowear.co.uk/ -
     https://twitter.com/spark240
     Facebook - m.me/studiowear.co.uk
    Reddit r/newmusicreview 
  • Jimbro66Jimbro66 Frets: 2423
    Sound advice from @AlexC and @spark240. Session work for guitarists can be very competitive because there are so many excellent players around. It sometimes helps to be able to offer an additional instrument or two, particularly if it's something less commonly played than guitar. I had doors opened because I could play Dobro to pro standard and at that time not too many could in Britain. From there it's easier to gain guitar work once you are known.
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14412
    west said:
    It's not who you know , it's who you blow.