Flat wound Strings

LevLev Frets: 228
About 2 years ago I bought my first bass, I've been playing guitar for twentysomething years but never owned my own bass. Knowing very little about bass I wanted for something versatile and not too expensive so I decided on the Squier VM Jaguar with P & J pickup configuration. (One of these: http://www.thomann.de/gb/fender_squier_vintmodjaguar_bass_sp_3.htm )

Anyway the bass arrived and was visually quite stunning and the fit and finish was very good indeed. So I started training my weedy guitar fingers to hold down these big strings. I managed to work out some of my favorite bass lines and started using it on my home recordings but I just never felt comfortable with it. There was lots string rattling going on while I was playing (although not coming through on the amp) and I just found it distracting and difficult to get any flow into my playing.

So last week I decided to try a set of flatwound strings to see if they might help. Well the difference is astounding!! It's like a brand new bass, no more rattles & I've actually managed to lower the action a touch more. It's much more comfortable to play and the icing on the cake is that it sounds fantastic. There's much more consistency to the notes as I move between strings whereas with the steel strings I'd get slight volume changes as I moved between strings (probably down to my bad right hand technique).

I know all of the bass playing community on here probably know all about flatwound strings but I thought I'd post this in case there are any other bass playing novices out there that are struggling to get the sound they want from their bass. I would imagine steel strings do have their place but for the music I play (blues/country/pop) flats simply rock.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JookyChapJookyChap Frets: 4234