Tips for proper grounding and shielding a telecaster

I've watched a few videos and have a vague idea of how to go about it. I'm new to all this so am looking for some good tips from you guys who have a bit more experience. What are the best practices and some handy things to know?
Read my guitar/gear blog at medium.com/redchairriffs

View my feedback at www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/comment/1201922
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14424
    For a start, it would be handy to know what pickups you will be using.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • Jonathanthomas83Jonathanthomas83 Frets: 3469
    edited January 2018
    Apologies @Funkfingers ;, they're single coils. A Bare Knuckle Flat 50 in the neck and a Bare Knuckle Cobra T in the bridge...quite high output.
    Read my guitar/gear blog at medium.com/redchairriffs

View my feedback at www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/comment/1201922
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14424
    The usual method is to line each pickup cavity with either screening foil or graphite paint. The cavity shielding needs to be connected to ground via an insulated wire to the chassis of one or other of the pots.

Soldering to foil can be a royal pain. It is far easier to use a short wood screw through a soldering lug into the bottom of the routed cavity. (As seen on post 1987 Fender guitars.)
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8703
    Here’s my view. I know that @WezV has an alternative view.