Frustrations of a lost guitarist

What's Hot
Firstly, if I have posted this in the wrong section, apologies,

Right to it: I've been playing and learning the guitar for about 2 years now. Im ok, im not SRV or Buddy Guy, but what i play sounds good and I'm happy with that. 

My assumption (and indeed, aspiration) is to play in a band. However, I simply cannot find anywhere after over 6 months of searching. I recently moved to a village just outside Northampton town and it doesn't seem like there are any local bands hiring/at all. I cannot sing a note, so going solo just isn't an option. I've been in contact with a few people about starting something, but it always falls flat. 

Has anyone else experienced this problem? Or will I have to look further afield/ give up?? 

Any advice would be great. 
"Pick your noses up!"
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• benmurray85benmurray85 Frets: 1396
    edited January 2018
    Are there any local jam nights in your area? These are how I started wth bands and gigging. They are a great starting point and will give you experience in playing live and build up contacts with players. 

Also dont be put off by time wasters when you’re looking to start a band. Unfortunately for every 1 serious potential bandmate there’s another 20 people who will talk the talk all day long but have absolutely zero intention of ever walking the walk. 
    How very rock and roll
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • where abouts do you live in Northampton, it is surrounded by a lot of counties.
    What sort of music are you looking at?