Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Help with Vintage 1975 stratocaster (Frets too high?)

What's Hot
Hi Everyone. I got my 1975 Stratocaster in the post today. Havnt plugged it in yet but sounds nice (I think) acoustically. Have noticed some fret buzz on high E at 14th Fret.

I am writing this post as I am new to vintage guitars and found that the metal frets are very high off the fret board to the touch compared to other guitars I have played before. Is this a 70s thing, desired at all or would you get them professionally lowered/ filed down?

Sorry I'm not very technical with set ups etc so would really appreciate some advise from you guys.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• impmannimpmann Frets: 12649
    edited January 2018
    Thats seen some life...

I'd say that has had a refret - they look a lot chunkier than regular vintage frets.

I'm also slightly concerned about a few details on it.... the neck shows signs of previously having a clamp fitted for a locking trem but the body (from what I can see) doesn't show any signs of ever having a Floyd or Kahler on there. Plus there's a bit of wood replaced behind the nut from a nut shelf being cut into it. I've also noticed the unusual control layout (should have three controls). The raised polepieces don't look factory either... like I say, its seen some life - was it sold to you as all original?
    Never Ever Bloody Anything Ever.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • welshboyowelshboyo Frets: 1808
    non original trem as well..
  • peteripeteri Frets: 1283
    Agreed, definitely a refret and I'm guessing a fretboard levelled as part of that (nothing wrong in that).