Faith Mars Classic Burst - New guitar with imperfection. Is this normal?

Hi all,

I purchased a Faith Mars Classic Burst about a week ago and have noticed a mark on the cedar top which seems like some kind of knot or something (image linked). It's not what i'd expect to find on the top of an £800 guitar but I'm not an expert!

Does anyone know if this is typical, or what the mark actually is? It's under the lacquer near the top where my right arm rests.

https://imgur.com/a/fNxWy

Any input would be much appreciated!

Cheers
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I got my hi gloss Venus for half price as there was a slight split in the top. Doesn't bother me. It plays good and sounds great, that's all that matters
    The Bigsby was the first successful design of what is now called a whammy bar or tremolo arm, although vibrato is the technically correct term for the musical effect it produces. In standard usage, tremolo is a rapid fluctuation of the volume of a note, while vibrato is a fluctuation in pitch. The origin of this nonstandard usage of the term by electric guitarists is attributed to Leo Fender, who also used the term “vibrato” to refer to what is really a tremolo effect.
  • Winny_PoohWinny_Pooh Frets: 7768
    Thats unusual. Does it look like wood? If it is wood then no worries. If its a hole filled and sprayed over I'd be less happy. Good wood is getting rare so cosmetic imperfections are fine in my book. 
  • BRISTOL86BRISTOL86 Frets: 1920
    I’d be more worried about that big white X on it! 

In all seriousness though, as above really. If it’s just a cosmetic quirk of the wood then it wouldn’t necessarily bother me (well it might, but it means there’s nothing wrong!). 
  • AliGorieAliGorie Frets: 308
    looks like an unusually shaped pitch hole mark - usually they are elongated 'n narrow running WITH the grain.