Laney LX-120RH

What's Hot
Hi all, I am really new to the world of electric guitars so sorry if this is a daft question. Having recently acquired an electric acoustic guitar along with a Laney LX120RH, I need to know do I need speakers or power amp or both to be able to hear the guitar or should the sound come directly from the LX120RH.
Any help muchly appreciated.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• DJH83004DJH83004 Frets: 196
    edited January 2018
    The 120RH is the reverb head, so yes you do need a separate speaker cab, I suggest a 2x12. I actually had the 2x12 combo version in recently for service, and they are pretty loud for solid state amps
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72301
    To be honest the LX120 is highly unsuitable for an electro-acoustic guitar - it's really an electric guitar amp (ie distortion generating). It does have a clean channel, but even that will be far from ideal.

Given that you also need to buy a speaker cab to run it, I would suggest it's probably better to trade it in for an acoustic guitar combo amp, which would work much better with your guitar.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

Taking ICs very valid point I misread your post as being a semi acoustic, say a 335 style guitar not an acoustic with maybe a piezo pickup, which wouldn’t work well with the Laney at all
  • Many thanks for the info, I will go ahead and buy a more suitable set up. Just to be clear I will need to test the Laney for purpose of exchange or sell, when you say speaker cab can I use my behringer speakers or do I need to use the power amp and pre amp connectors that are on the back of the Laney. Many thanks.