Soldering iron recommendations please

What's Hot
My ol' iron gave up the ghost at the weekend.

It belonged to my stepfather so it's positively ancient, but i liked it and it's rewired dozens of guitars.

What's the forum knowledge on new irons for guitar work? Also what solder do you use. I have a ton of old school lead stuff left which is a joy to use but probably not that healthy

Thanks 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I have one of these: http://uk.farnell.com/tenma/21-10115-eu/soldering-station-60w-220v-eu/dp/2062627?st=tenma%20soldering%20station it's a nice setup, and I got some other tips for it for other applications as well as a larger spade type tip for applying some heat to frets prior to removal. I'm only a novice hobbyist on guitars but have more experience on soldering/electrickery
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72321
    The general rule seems to be Antex for lower-powered directly-wired irons, and Weller for higher-powered low-voltage 'soldering station' ones. I've got a couple of each and they've always done the job fine - I've had to replace the elements a few times in both, but that shouldn't be a problem for a few years.

Leaded solder is perfectly OK to use as long as you don't go sniffing the fumes or eating it :). And remember to wash your hands after handling it, but I assume you would anyway...

If you're going to use lead-free, the best by far is added-silver - typically 2-4% silver - avoid the plain lead-free, it's basically little more than pure tin and is difficult to get good clean joints with. The silver reduces the melting point and makes it flow much better, almost as good as leaded. Maplin sell it if you can't get it in small quantities elsewhere - it's expensive, but well worth it.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski