Crazy Little Thing Called Love Solo?

What's Hot
monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17601
in Technique tFB Trader
I'm doing a dep gig in a couple of weeks which is going to require me to learn about 40 odd songs.
I've got limited time to learn the songs and only one opportunity to practice with the band. This means that the first time I play a lot of the songs will be on the night, but I should be alright as they are a fairly rough and ready lot and aren't bothered if I play things as per the record.

Most of the stuff is fairly easy fare and I'm only learning solos note for note if they are simple ones like "Use somebody". One of the only ones with a recognisable but complex solo is "Crazy Little Thing Called Love"
I set out to bluff something in D minor pentatonic as I don't have time to work it out note for note which started out OK and then sounds a bit off so I'm assuming it key changes part way through the solo. 

Anyone do this in their band and can help me out with what scales I should be targeting and what the change is?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RolandRoland Frets: 8701
    GT tabbed the whole song in April 2001. PM me an email address and I'll send you a pdf
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
  • monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17601
    tFB Trader
    Fab thanks!
  • johnnyurqjohnnyurq Frets: 1368
    If you wish I have the LTP LL DVD I could rip the solo section and upload it to DropBox if you wish. A bit naughty maybe but easier than me finding the old VHS of Brian himself teaching how to play it and ripping that.

Let me know and I will make it so.
  • vizviz Frets: 10691
    We did it and tbh I think your best bet is just to learn it - it's really easy, it's only got 3 chord changes I think, and if you snap to each one's penta position you'll be fine.
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.