Compression indicator LED?

What's Hot
I'm an absolute beginner to electronics so forgive me if I'm asking a stupid question. I've done a couple of Fuzzdog kits and now I've challenged myself to make an Orange Squeezer on stripboard. I'm breadboarding at the moment and had the idea of adding an LED that lights up as the sound compresses (like the LED on the Diamond compressors).

My question is: how simple would it be to do this? Would I be able to replace D1 with an LED, or would I have to add something more sophisticated? (schematic link below)

I've looked at a couple of circuit analyses for different effects but can't find one that breaks down a compressor pedal circuit, and being new to all this I don't know exactly what part the diode plays in compressing the signal.

This is the schematic & parts list I've been following: http://pedalparts.co.uk/docs/Squeezer-MkII.pdf
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RavenousRavenous Frets: 1484

I don't think replacing D1 with an LED will work.  I guess this because it's in series with R10 which is 1.5 K, so the current in that part of the circuit is quite low, probably too low for the LED to light.

(It would not do any damage to temporarily try an LED though.)

I think the "proper" way to do this would be to take the voltage either at the top of that LED, OR at the top of C4, run it into an op-amp  buffer and then to a comparator which would light the LED.  But that would mean a lot of trial and error to find components that work...

• KalimnaKalimna Frets: 1540

Apologies for hijacking this thread a little, but whereabouts did you find the circuit analyses? Ive built a few pedals now, with varying degrees of success, and would like to learn a little theory behind the pedals. Especially when they don't work - for instance I have an EHX Small Clone clone that is causing me grief (dry signal passes fine, but no modulation)...