Oasis Marathon

What's Hot
english_bobenglish_bob Frets: 5128
I have the good fortune (or not) to have a job where I can sit at my desk unmolested for days at a time. I've occasionally used these long periods of getting left alone to listen to the whole back catalogue of particular bands, and today it's Oasis' turn.

I'm not very good at following bands closely for extended periods- there's very few bands whose albums I've always bought when they came out, and Oasis are no exception. I bought Definitely Maybe (on cassette, no less!) in 1994, taped What's The Story, Morning Glory from a friend in '95 and was pretty much over them by the time Be Here Now came out. Mrs_bob filled out most of the rest of their discography when we got married and pooled CDs, and we've picked up the last couple of albums since. I'm superficially familiar with their stuff since What's The Story, and I've liked Noel's High Flying Birds stuff, but I can't say I've deliberately listened to Oasis... this century. How do they hold up?

ASKING IN ADVANCE: planning just to do studio albums, but do I include The Masterplan? Not really a "studio album" as such, but very highly regarded nonetheless. What do you think?

Definitely Maybe

Well shit. It's not hard to see what the fuss was about. Oasis got shit right out of the gate as Beatles copyists, and it's true that you can hear Revolver-era Beatles influence all over this record, but what makes it brilliant, rather than an irritating pastiche, is the fact that it manages to sound like so many other things too- T-Rex, The Stone Roses, Slade, even the Sex Pistols in it's massive walls of guitars and sneery, snarling vocal delivery. It's like a greatest hits of populist British guitar bands, without ever sounding like anyone but Oasis. Noel is still as proud as a man of such prodigious self-regard can be of "Live Forever". Honestly though, you can't blame him. 

Don't talk politics and don't throw stones. Your royal highnesses.