Amp building

What's Hot
Hi all, 

Just wondering if anybody has any experience building amps...I'm looking at a long term project/hobby where I learn to build my own basic valve amps. I have zero knowledge of electronics (haha) but am keen and eager all the same. 

I know there is a guy in London (Vyse?) who offers 3 day courses, has anybody got any experience of these?

I also saw that in the States, you can go on a residential course with Bruce Egnater himself. Oh to be a lottery winner without responsibilities...

I guess my question is where do I start? I imagine any electronics courses I could do at night-school etc would be geared towards modern technology, not the ancient valve set ups I'm after...

Is pedal-building a more realistic way to dip my toe in the water?

Chris
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1625
    Do you have somewhere to do it Chris? 

You can at a pinch build pedals and do small, low voltage experiments on the kitchen table but full sized, mains powered amps, even if transistor jobs,  really need a dedicated workshop (if I had one my wife would never see me!) . 

But yes, pedals are a good intro. I always tell rank beginners to buy the Maplin One Watt amp kit and build that. Instructive and makes a decent guitar practice amp. Use headhones if powering with 2X AA or it will drive a speaker, especially a "guitar" speaker surprisingly loudly from a PP3. 

Dave.
  • Thanks Dave,