What is the II chord in Am?

What's Hot
FuengiFuengi Frets: 562
Had lesson yesterday, it's makes on the sheet as Bd/m (or is it Bdim?) What is this chord?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Comments

• ArchtopDaveArchtopDave Frets: 405
    edited March 24
    It’s B Diminished. The notes in the chord are B, D and F - Root, Flat 3rd and Flat 5th. If you add the 7th, which in this case is a Flat 7th, then you have Bm7b5, which is a Half Diminished Chord. You are simply taking the Notes themselves from the A Minor Scale.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • sm55onlsm55onl Frets: 23
    edited March 24
    I’m no expert but from doing some reading of late...

A (natural) minor scale: A B C D E F G | A B C...(ad inifinitum)
    http://www.guitar-chords.org.uk/chords-key-a-minor.html

Thereafter take, starting from note B (building chords via triads) each alternate note...giving the group of notes
    B D F A

Now set the above group of notes against the B major scale (B C# D# E F# G# A#)
    http://www.guitar-chords.org.uk/guitarscales/b-major-scale.html

B [root],
    D [flat third, b3]
    F [flat fifth, b5]
    A [flat seventh, b7]

Thus, depending on whether a group of three notes (B D and F) or four notes (B D F A) is used then the harmonised (diatonic ?) chords will be either

B dim
    [R, b3, b5]

or

B half-diminished (or named as Bmin7b5 or Bm7b5)
    [R, b3, b5, b7]

http://www.jazzguitar.be/blog/jazz-guitar-chord-theory/

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 3107
    Brian Wilson knew how to use a ii chord. :)
    "It's no wonder the Pacific Ocean is blue."
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • BlueingreenBlueingreen Frets: 684
    edited March 24