New Toys for the workshop.

What's Hot
GSPBASSESGSPBASSES Frets: 2335
edited March 2018 in Making & Modding tFB Trader

I'm trying to make more space in my workshop, I'm been selling off some of the bodies and necks that been lying around for a while. I'm now going to try and clear out some of the bigger machines, the first one that I think I can replace is a long bed belt sander. This is the machine that I radius my fingerboards on. I've been using it for 10 or 12 years. It does a great job very quick, most likely just over a minute to radius the fingerboard. However, it does take up room plus it has to be connected to a dust extractor.

I have found these beautiful engineered radius jigs. I watched the video and they look just I what need. They come in all the standard radius you're ever likely to need. I purchased two complete kits to do 9.5 inch and 12 inch radius. The company did tell me I only need one kit and you can buy the different radius parts separately. But I decided to buy the two kits, although it doesn't look too difficult to change from one size to another, but thought it would save time and be easier to have two main radius I use permanently set up.They are available to take three makes of router. I went for the ones that take Makita, as this is a beautiful router and quite quiet compared to the others that these kits take. Also I found the Makita router for £99.

I've made the plywood jig that the machine runs on. The company video shows the fingerboard being radius before slotting, I'm I was hoping I could slot the fingerboard's first, the reason being my slotting machine has the fingerboard, facing downwards, Thus cannot easily slot a radius fingerboard. I slotted up a couple of rosewood fingerboard's, then use the machine to cut a 12 inch radius on the boards. It worked beautifully, I was slightly worried that radius in this way might chip the fingerboard's as the router cutter when over the slots, it did not, so I am well  pleased.