Mixer or other studio stuff for an idiot

What's Hot
ijontyijonty Frets: 32
edited April 2018 in Studio & Recording
Hi folks,

I'm going to sort out my spare room with the basic kit I need to record. Sick of getting stuff out of cupboards, searching for extension leads, unplugging lamps, spending most of my time setting up, rather than actually playing.

I'm a real beginner, so all I've got so far is (apart from guitar, amp and pedal board obviously):

Macbook air
M-Audio studio speakers
TC Helicon Voicelive pedal and mic
SR-16 drum machine
Teenage Engineering PO-32
USB Audio interface (basic Alesis core 1)
iPad for synth apps

So (idiot question incoming...) what do I need to link all this together? Presumably a mixer? Or just a more fancy audio interface? Where do I start, and how am I best arranging it so that everything is connected, I can just switch it all on and get going, without loads of set up each time?

Any advice really appreciated.

Cheers,

Jon

Telecaster American Deluxe, Cornell Romany amp, without the talent to use them properly
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LuminousLuminous Frets: 210
    I would consider a mixer that is also a USB interface

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14412
    ijonty said:
    Presumably a mixer? Or just a more fancy audio interface?
    Consideration #1 - Estimate how many sound sources you are likely to need to record simultaneously.

IIRC, the SR-16 has Left, Right and a couple of additional mono output sockets. Count the SR-16 as four signals.

Consideration #2 - How confident are you about getting instrument group sub-mixes right first time? 

Taking the SR-16 as an example again, if you are happy to take the stereo overall sound *as is*, tap off the snare drum and one other for separate processing and, then, blend the results as one stereo source, this will save time later in the music making process.