Korg Volca Series

Hey guys

Thinking about moving into some electro/synth type directions, mainly just for messing around at home and maybe for accompanying/recording alongside my guitar. 

The Korg Volca series appeals on lots of levels and tbh the keys/bass/beats all appeal in slightly different ways. 

Anyone got one that they want to comment on, particularly for newbies? 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Comments

• WazmeisterWazmeister Frets: 3660
    Mate, Im a newbie too in this field, and I tried the Volca.
    Feels a bit like a toy, but great value for money especially used...

My brief journey so far has taken me into more expensive (surprise surprise) territory, and I have settled on the following;

1.) Teenage Engineering OP-1
    A stunning and addictive and fun instrument. Truly portable with a HUGE battery life (months). Built like a tank

2.) Elektron Digitakt/Digitone
    If there is a sound in your head, its in one of these. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • TeetonetalTeetonetal Frets: 5730
    I got the beats one from a raffle. It's neat but limited. Annoying is the small output jack. Honestly I'd go for a minibrute, korg monosynth or a behringer model D for not uch more.
  • VJIvesVJIves Frets: 197
    I have the Volca Sample and it is awesome. Really simple to use even if (like me) you're new to the concept. Considering getting the FM next.
  • UnclePsychosisUnclePsychosis Frets: 5010
    Cheers guys. I think I'm going to hold off getting one just now but purely because I've spent an obscene amount on pedals recently. Will pick up a Beats later in the year I reckon. 

Cheers
  • mbembe Frets: 556
    My Keys and Bass are fab. I would like the FM but not too keen on the Beats. Discontinued Akai Tomcat is a good cheap alternative for analog drums.
  • Shark_EyesShark_Eyes Frets: 308