Ant McPartlin

What's Hot

Comments

• proggyproggy Frets: 5835

I think it's a bit daft fining the mega-rich, not exactly punishment is it?

It's laughable more than anything.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • randellarandella Frets: 4166
    proggy said:

I think it's a bit daft fining the mega-rich, not exactly punishment is it?

It's laughable more than anything.

It's about a combination of punishment and rehabilitation.  The fine benefits the Police more than anything - they had to be seen to do it.  The exposure and consequent wake-up are what I should imagine will rehabilitate our Ant and make sure he doesn't do it again.  I'd say that's a decent enough outcome, surely?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • scrumhalfscrumhalf Frets: 11289
    Fretwired said:

If it was you or me we'd be buggered and have to use public transport.
    Blimey, sentencing guidelines have changed a bit since I did my law degree.

I cannot understand how the law approaches drunk driving when the offender has either been convicted of it before or has multiples of the permitted alcohol level in his/her bloodstream. Why should they be allowed to drive again?
    4reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • VimFuegoVimFuego Frets: 15483
    scrumhalf said:
    Fretwired said:

I cannot understand how the law approaches drunk driving when the offender has either been convicted of it before or has multiples of the permitted alcohol level in his/her bloodstream. Why should they be allowed to drive again?
    I've certainly seen several cases where multiple bans have resulted in a custodial term, though can't recall how many times they are banned before being sent down. IMO, 20 months for a 2nd ban seems lenient, it should be in a multiple of years.

I'm not locked in here with you, you are locked in here with me.

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom