11 Strings On A Tele ? Great Results...

What's Hot

Comments

• jimmyguitarjimmyguitar Frets: 2464
    I’m up to 12-52 with wound g on my les paul and jag and love them. I play my acoustic a lot and got so used to soloing on it that any gauge lower than 10-52 (which I like on my strat) feels ridiculously rubber-band-like.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • vasselmeyervasselmeyer Frets: 3672
    I play 11s on all my electrics apart from slide which uses 12s. I'm pretty heavy-handed when I play live and do like to smack the strings pretty hard. This started when I started playing live back in the early 1990s and I always felt that I was on the verge of breaking 9s and 10s. I just went up gauges until I found strings I could play without them feeling like they were going to break all the time.

If I play anything with 9s or 10s now it just feels all squidgy and wrong.
  • redwedgeredwedge Frets: 17
    Flatwound 12 to 52 on all my electrics - anything else feels like cheesewire
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • GavRichListGavRichList Frets: 7162
    I've been using 11s on everything for 4 years or so.

This
  • impmannimpmann Frets: 12665
    I've tried 11s on my Tele and whilst I liked the sound (yes, it did make a difference), I did get problems with my hands. So I went back to 10s... no such problems.

I also used 13s on my slide Tele... which was great, apart from the blisters on my right thumb (I play slide with fingers, not a pick).
    Never Ever Bloody Anything Ever.

• AlnicoAlnico Frets: 4616
    edited April 2018
    10 - 52 on my Strat and my Gretsch.
    10 - 46 on my Tele and PRS at the moment but both of those will soon be changed over to 10 - 52.
    I've tried 11's but the treble strings are just that bit too much for me to bend. I like lots of two tone and tone and a half bends and 11's just ruin my fingers.
    10 - 52 is the perfect hybrid set for me.