Ebony truss rod covers.

Just ordered some 3 mm ebony to make some truss rod covers for my prs guitars. Any advice would be welcome from other forum members.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33782
    What would you like to know?
    It is hard to give you advice without an idea of what you need help with, your current level of skill and what your available tools are.
  • markjmarkj Frets: 914
    edited March 2014
    I have quite a good knowledge of woodworking skills, I was wondering wether to leave the ebony natural,wood or use a clear Finish of some sort. I have never worked with ebony before. Is it an easy wood to work with?
  • ArchtopDaveArchtopDave Frets: 1368
    Potentially you could just sand it through sandpaper grades to a fine one. Having said that, certainly nitro finished ebony does look good. It really depends on how you want this little area of the guitar to look. Ebony can be slightly odd to work with, in that it can sometimes "chip" like a bit of coal.
  • WezVWezV Frets: 16655
    it can be a bit brittle and chip easily so i wouldn't go too fancy on the shape until you are used to working with it, on the other hand its really easy to repair any damage with a bit of ebony dust and superglue

i would leave it unfinished as to me  lacquered ebony ends up looking a lot like black plastic... but obviously that depends on the piece, if it has some lighter streaks this won't be a problem at all.   generally you can just polish it to a nice shine, if it looks a bit dull add a bit of oil for a nicer luster 
  • I've added some wudtone black magic woman and gloss top coat to the headstock on mine, just to prevent further chipping (I accidentally put a small chip near one of the tuner holes when test fitting, entirely my fault but not noticeable when the tuner is in place).