LJ20 Help Please!

What's Hot
JerkMoansJerkMoans Frets: 8793
edited April 2018 in Amps
Exciting times at Schloss Moans: my recent eBay snaffle LJ20 just showed up on the back of a UPS wagon. 

Trembling with anticipation I tear into the packaging.  As agreed with the seller he had removed the valves and carefully wrapped and numbered each one, and sent me a diagram showing where to replace them.

Back off, valves all in place as directed, plug in, flick switch and ... nothing, save it tripped out the entire kitchen circuit.  Switched it all off, pulled the tubes out and replaced them again, plugged in, flicked switch and again, nothing from the amp but the trip switch goes.

Clearly something ain't right: I'm no electrician and suspect it's probably something quite simple, but would be grateful for any suggestions..

Inactivist Lefty Lawyer
0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• GassageGassage Frets: 30888
    Have you got the reverb plugged into the extension cab socket there?

*An Official Foo-Approved guitarist since Sept 2023.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • WazmeisterWazmeister Frets: 9526
    Gassage said:
    x2
  • JerkMoansJerkMoans Frets: 8793
    Thanks for the observations chaps, IS that an extension cab socket?  I can't see anywhere else for the cable from the reverb unit to go..  Think this may be a slightly older model, as it bears only passing resemblance to the guts of the thing in the manual I downloaded (this one has no bass cut switch between the preamp tubes, for example)   Anyway tried unplugging the reverb cable and precisely the same thing happened again :(
    Inactivist Lefty Lawyer
  • Moe_ZambeekMoe_Zambeek Frets: 3422
    edited April 2018
    Any of the amp fuses damaged, including the one in the plug? Are they all the correct values? Have you tried plugging it into sockets elsewhere in the house?