MIDI - beginner needs help

Right.

I'm a MIDI noob. I understand the basics - it's a protocol for sending control messages - but I don't really understand what hardware I need to make it work. 

Lets say I have four Korg Volcas (I currently own two but intend to acquire more). Each of these has a MIDI in, but no MIDI out. The connector on each is a five pin traditional DIN, not USB. 

If I want to control these from a software based sequencer (recommendations for a simple/cheap one welcome) what do I need to get to connect them to the PC? My machine is running Windows 10.

A quick look online suggests lots of options - midisports 4x4, getting some kind of midi through (how to connect that to a PC?) etc. I would like a solution that's cheap and relatively fuss free. 

Lets also assume that in future I will want to add a MIDI keyboard/controller - I guess a modern one will just connect to the PC via USB and then I can use software to route the midi out from the keyboard to control the Volcas? 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RolandRoland Frets: 8684
    The midisport connects to your PC by usb.

You could indeed connect a midi keyboard to your PC. If the keyboard doesn’t have usb then you’ll need the midisport to convert midi to usb, and back to midi for the Volcas. My midisport only has midi In and Thru. I presume there’s something which will have four outputs.
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33782
    As Roland says, you connect a USB midi interface to your computer and then midi out of the 4 ports to your 4 Volca's.

Other devices sometimes have a midi out/thru.
    Say you had 4 x monosynths, with a midi out/thru on each, you could chain them serially (out of one into the in of two, out of two into the in of three... etc.
    As the Volca only has a MIDI IN you will need one port per device.