A new fanned fret, a bit less vintage than recent builds

What's Hot
WezVWezV Frets: 16665
I shouldn't really start a new build thread, as i have loads of stuff to do - but this is something i have been promising my cousin for a few years.

its going to be a through neck, vaguely Caparison inspired 6 string with fanned frets..  i have not designed it yet, but started on the wood prep

he has asked me to use a piece of old mahogany from his mothers fireplace - its been the mantle in an old farmhouse for a long time.   Its nicely dry, very light and has a great tap tone.   He won;t let me build a les paul out of it, so its getting used for the wings on this

neck is 5-piece

with some nice flame

and he has stolen a fretboard i was going to use on a headless for me, but that's okay

0reaction image LOL 3reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• paulnb57paulnb57 Frets: 3054
    Nice wood Wez!*

*Never thought I'd say that to a chap!
    Stranger from another planet welcome to our hole - Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock 'n' roll

3reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • WezVWezV Frets: 16665
    the neck has been glued up with some wenge veneer

nice amount of flame in it

made a template for the body and roughly cut the wings to shape

and cleaned the top up a bit

My cousin is a big fan of the Caparison shape and headstock so since this is a non-profit build for a family member i may go with it,  The shape is slightly tweaked and downsized a bit, halfway between an N4 or dinky and full strat dimensions

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • normula1normula1 Frets: 640
    That's a nice bit of wood.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    It’s actually quite a low grade because the strongest figure is at the narrowest point, it’s not consistent, it’s too dark etc...

but its its the kind of wood I like.  A lot more interesting